Skip to content

Apple Maps brings radar alerts to new countries

Apple Maps brings radar alerts to new countries

Apple is extending Apple Maps radar alerts to users in Australia, Austria, Belgium, Sweden, the Netherlands and New Zealand by observing the camera locations displayed in the Maps app on the iPhone and Apple CarPlay.

Radar alerts were first released with iOS 14 for users in Canada, Ireland, the United Kingdom and the United States. Users will be notified as they travel with the speed cameras ahead, as well as with the option to see the cameras on their route map.

First seen by the Dutch website iCulture, Apple seems to be still in full expansion of the Maps feature, with notifications and announcements when approaching an unavailable radar during testing.

Apple is expected to further expand its Maps service next month with the release of iOS 14.5, which will add Waze-like community features that will allow drivers to report accidents, hazards and speed checks to other road users.

Picture: iCulture